Tigers crowned Rivertown Champs

The Lawrenceburg Tigers and South Dearborn Knights faced off in the Rivertown Classic championship.
South Dearborn was in search of their third Rivertown title in a row, but Lawrenceburg was looking to tie the record by the Knights of nine all-time titles. The teams were tied after one period and the SD defense was stellar in the second quarter, but the Tigers came back to get the win over SD in the fourth quarter. Cooper Bobo Earned the Rivertown MVP award and the Knights and Tigers now each have nine Rivertown titles after Lawrenceburg’s eight-point win.
The first quarter started with Logan Rohrer putting the Tigers up 2-0, the Knights then hit back-to-back with Hudson Shackleford and Adam Kunkel putting SD up, Rohrer tied it, and a Bobo freebie put Lawrenceburg up 5-4. The Knights hit from deep twice Zander Schwab then Ryan Willoughby and SD went up 10-5. Ben Cornett scored for the Tigers with one minute remaining on the clock and with 20 seconds to go Charlie Meyer tied it at 10-10 with a three-pointer. The Knights held Lawrenceburg scoreless in the second frame while Brodie Teke and Schwab paired up for six points, and SD led at the half 18-10. The Tigers came out in the third frame and went on a 7-0 run. Midway through the quarter Teke hit a pair of freebies to stop the LHS run. The Tigers outscored SD over the rest of the period 6-4 and it was 24-23 in favor of South Dearborn after three quarters. Bobo started the final period giving Lawrenceburg their first lead since the first quarter. Teke got two from the line for SD. Sam Cornett hit a free throw and bucket starting an 11-0 run and it was 36-26 Tigers, with 2:00 to go. Willoughby hit a pair from the line and Teke sank a deep three and it was a six-point ball game with just over a minute to go. Schwab hit another for SD but Sam Cornet picked up an old fashioned three-point play and Lawrenceburg led by seven with 30 seconds to go. Lawrenceburg finished off the Knights by shooting 9 of 16 from the line in the fourth quarter to take a 44-36 win.
Unofficial scoring
Lawrenceburg- Rohrer 14, Bobo 10, S. Cornett 7, Meyer 5, B. Cornett 5, Knigga 3
South Dearborn- Willoughby 10, Teke 9, Schwab 8, Shackleford 7, Kunkel 2

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Reply